INTERSTATE 35 COMMUNITY SCHOOL DISTRICT REGULAR BOARD MEETING MINUTES

August 24, 2020

The Interstate 35 Community School District Board of Education met in regular session, at 6:00 p.m. on Monday, August 24, 2020 at the High School Media Center in Truro, Iowa.

President Jeremy Maske called the meeting to order at 6:00 p.m. Directors Roger Cannoy, Cindi Cassady, Sara Hughes, and Eddie Vonnahme were present. Also present were Superintendent Mrs. Sharon Dentlinger and Board Secretary Ted Bauer. All in attendance recited the Pledge of Allegiance and Maske read I-35's District Mission Statement and the District's Priorities.

Motion by Vonnahme, seconded by Hughes to approve the agenda as presented; motion carried 5-0.

Open Forum: Frank Stroh, bus driver and president of the Interstate 35 Education Support Employees Association, addressed the Board and shared that the first day of school went well and expressed his appreciation for the staff being included in the Return to Learn Plan.

The Board welcomed Junior Will Borseth as the student council representative.

Education Spotlight: First Day of School—Mrs. Dentlinger shared how the first day of school had gone for students and employees. Students and staff can now use their identification cards as they go through the lunch line to avoid touching the keypads.

Elementary Principal Geoff Tessau reported that the students and staff were excited to return to school for the first day. The staggered bus release went well for the first day. The One Tab devices came in for students in Preschool through second grade. He added that the orientation for remote learners will be held on Wednesday evening. Secondary Principal Steve Kaster shared that the first day went well. He was pleased that students arrived wearing their masks.

Superintendent Mrs. Dentlinger gave an update on the professional development held prior to the start of school including speakers Curtis Slater who presented on behavior challenges and Trevor Ragan from the Learner Lab who presented on growth mindset. Dentlinger gave an update on the auditorium roof problem and how the architects and the project manager are working to find a solution to correct the problem.

Maske called for discussion and approval of the following consent agenda items: minutes of the July 27, 2020 board work session; minutes of the July 27, 2020 regular board meeting; minutes of the August 10, 2020 special board meeting; monthly bills and financial statement; contracts for Nikole Kimmel (associate), Madalyn Olson (associate), Christine Bethards (bus driver), Lexi Crozier (ms head and assistant volleyball coach), Jamie Gelner (ms student council advisor), Maggie Llewellyn (ms student council advisor), Jerry young (hs head robotics coach), Cody Swim (ms assistant football coach); open enrollment applications. Motion by Cannoy, seconded by Cassady to approve the consent agenda items as presented; motion carried 5-0.

Dentlinger presented the most current Return to Learn Guidance from the State.

Dentlinger shared that the Teacher Leadership and Compensation (TLC) Committee had recently met. The TLC Committee has recommended having 4-5 remote learning liaison members which will be funded from the TLC allocation. The PLC stipends were eliminated this year because PLC now occurs during the regular contract hours.

Dentlinger shared the list of legislative priorities from IASB and asked the members to review the list and come up with our list of priorities to present to IASB for the next legislative session. Cannoy moved, seconded by Cassady, to adopt the following legislative priorities: (#3) Preschool Funding to be increased from .5 to 1.0 FTE; (#18) School Funding Policy including (#13) Market-Competitive Wages; and (#26) Local Accountability and Decision Making. Motion carried 5-0.

Dentlinger presented an overview of the Remote Learning Guide.

The next board meeting is scheduled for September 28, 2020 at 6:00 p.m. at the High School Media Center.

Motion by Vonnahme, seconded by Cannoy to adjourn; motion carried 5-0. Meeting adjourned at 7:19 p.m.

Jeremy Maske, Board President

Ted Bauer, Board Secretary