INTERSTATE 35 COMMUNITY SCHOOL DISTRICT

REGULAR BOARD MEETING MINUTES

July 18, 2022

The Interstate 35 Community School District Board of Education met in regular session, at 6:00 p.m. on Monday, July 18, 2022 in the Auditorium in Truro, Iowa.

President Jeremy Maske called the meeting to order at 6:02 p.m. Directors Roger Cannoy, Melissa Keller, and Eddie Vonnahme were present. Director Monica Strange arrived at 6:05 p.m. Also present were Superintendent Mrs. Sharon Dentlinger and Board Secretary Ted Bauer. All in attendance recited the Pledge of Allegiance and Maske read I-35's District Mission Statement and the District's Priorities.

Motion by Cannoy, seconded by Vonnahme to approve the agenda; motion carried 4-0.

Open Forum: Nathan Gibson commented that he would like to see board meeting agendas posted earlier than the Friday before the Monday board meeting. Gibson provided the Board Secretary with a handout regarding FASTER training and suggested that the district use the Safety Grant from the State of Iowa to implement this program.

Secondary Principal Anson Bonte and Assistant Secondary Principal Sharon Whitson were present to share that they have been working to fill any remaining open positions in the secondary staff. Bonte stressed that they would build on the positives and improve other areas. Whitson stressed that kids come first and when they are assessing things, they will evaluate everything. Whitson acknowledged that custodians and tech employees are working hard to get ready for the upcoming school year.

Elementary Principal Danielle Woods expressed appreciation to the summer staff. Woods indicated that they have been strategic to fill a Kindergarten position by hiring an experienced retiree for ½ the year and interviewing December graduates to fill it for the second semester. Elementary schedules are being put together to be sent out to elementary staff for feedback this week.

Activities Director/Special Education Director Brayton Weber gave an update on summer sports varsity softball team came within 2 games of going to state and varsity baseball got the sendoff to Carroll today and will play tomorrow morning. All banners of schools in the conference have been hung in the gymnasium. Weber indicated that the district has had an increase in the number of students with I.E.P.'s, which requires additional teacher associates to meet the needs. He credits the associate mentor program for helping to retain associates.

Superintendent Mrs. Dentlinger gave a reminder that the election on the district's RPS (Revenue Purpose Statement) will be held on Tuesday, September 13, 2022. Dentlinger shared an FAQ (Frequently Asked Questions) to help explain the RPS. Key points of the FAQ include (1) that the RPS is a voter-approved description of how the district can spend funds generated by SAVE one-cent sales tax that the State of Iowa has dedicated to public schools, (2) the RPS will not raise anyone's taxes (only how the SAVE funds can be spent by the district), (3) and additional information will be posted on the district's website at <u>www.roadrunnerpride.org</u>. Dentlinger shared that online registration will be available on August 1, 2022 and in-person registration at the school will occur on August 4th from 12:00 p.m. to 8:00 p.m. Dentlinger expressed good luck to the Boys Baseball team.

Maske called for discussion and approval of the following consent agenda items: minutes of the regular board meeting on June 27, 2022 and special board meeting on July 8, 2022; monthly bills and financial statement; resignations from Betsy Shovlain (special education associate); contracts for Chasity Jones (3 year-old preschool teacher, daycare opener and daycare associate), Karla Meis (special education associate), Holly Finley (special education associate), Laura Haines (hs teacher mentor), Kaitlyn Grant (ms teacher mentor), Bev Murphy (elementary teacher mentor), Giget Showers (special education teacher mentor), Heather Peacock (ELA content coach), Tahra Bedwell (science content coach), Maggie Llewellyn (social studies content coach), Amy Maiers (fine arts content coach), Prisilla Boswell (reading content coach), Sheldon Thompson (assistant boys basketball coach), Michelle Wheeler (computer science and ms teacher), Nona Eivins (half-year Kindergarten teacher), Nick McKinney (band instructor); increase employment contract for Brayton Weber; open enrollment. Motion by Vonnahme, seconded by Cannoy to approve the consent agenda items as presented, motion carried 5-0.

Bonte and Whitson presented the significant changes to the Secondary Student Handbook. Motion by Keller, seconded by Vonnahme to approve the Secondary Student Handbook as presented; motion carried 5-0.

Weber presented the significant changes to the Activities Handbook. Motion by Cannoy, seconded by Strange to approve the Activities Handbook as presented, except change #6 relating to Good Conduct Policy, which will be tabled until next meeting; motion carried 5-0.

Woods presented the significant changes to the Elementary Student Handbook. Motion by Vonnahme, seconded by Keller to approve the Elementary Student Handbook as presented; motion carried 5-0.

Motion by Vonnahme, seconded by Strange to approve the Daycare Parent Handbook as presented; motion carried 5-0.

Dentlinger presented changes to the Certified Staff Handbook. Motion by Cannoy, seconded by Keller to approve the Certified Staff Handbook as presented; motion carried 5-0.

At 7:22 p.m., motion by Vonnahme, seconded by Keller to move into closed session to consider disciplinary action against a student as provided by Iowa Code Section 21.5(1)(e) and to review and discuss records which are required by state or federal law to be kept confidential as provided by Iowa Code Section 21.5(1)(a); roll call vote was taken, motion carried 5-0.

At 7:44 p.m., the Board returned to open session.

The next regular board meeting is scheduled for August 22, 2022 at 6:00 p.m. at the Auditorium.

Motion by Strange, seconded by Vonnahme to adjourn; motion carried 5-0. Meeting adjourned at 7:46 p.m.

Jeremy Maske, Board President

Ted Bauer, Board Secretary