## INTERSTATE 35 COMMUNITY SCHOOL DISTRICT SPECIAL BOARD MEETING MINUTES

May 1, 2023

The Interstate 35 Community School District Board of Education met in special session, at 5:00 p.m. on Monday, May 1, 2023 at the High School Media Center in Truro, Iowa.

President Jeremy Maske called the meeting to order at 5:00 p.m. Vice-President Roger Cannoy and Jeremy Maske were present. Directors Melissa Keller and Eddie Vonnahme were present electronically. Director Monica Strange was absent. Also present were Superintendent Mrs. Sharon Dentlinger and Board Secretary Ted Bauer. All in attendance recited the Pledge of Allegiance and Maske read I-35's District Mission Statement and the District's Priorities.

Motion by Cannoy, seconded by Vonnahme to approve the agenda as presented; motion carried 4-0.

Dentlinger explained that a portion of the district's fire alarm system will need to be brought up to code. The newer areas of the building will not need to be replaced, but the areas that have the older system do need to be replaced to work as one system with the existing system for the whole building. Motion by Keller, seconded by Cannoy to approve the proposals from Johnson Controls to provide the fire alarm equipment and Schipper Electric for the installation of the equipment; motion carried 4-0.

Dentlinger explained that the district participates in the government's E-Rate program to receive funding for discounts on telecommunications services and internal connections. Throughout the E-Rate process, the district solicits bids for network infrastructure equipment and services. The bid winner was Blue Ally for the firewall, transceiver, and power distribution unit for \$51,575. The bid winner was SHI for the network switches and universal power supplies for \$9,592.48. Motion by Cannoy, seconded by Vonnahme to approve the bids from Blue Ally and SHI as presented; motion carried 4-0.

Motion by Keller, seconded by Cannoy to a p.m.	adjourn; motion carried 4-0. Meeting adjourned at 5:12
Jeremy Maske, Board President	Ted Bauer, Board Secretary