INTERSTATE 35 COMMUNITY SCHOOL DISTRICT SPECIAL BOARD MEETING MINUTES MARCH 30, 2020

The Interstate 35 Community School District Board of Education met in special session, at 6:00 p.m. on Monday, March 30, 2020 at the High School Media Center in Truro, Iowa.

President Jeremy Maske (present physically) called the virtual meeting to order at 6:02 p.m. Directors Roger Cannoy, Cindi Cassady, Sara Hughes, and Eddie Vonnahme were virtually present through Zoom. Also present physically were Superintendent Mrs. Sharon Dentlinger and Board Secretary Ted Bauer. Members of the public were also invited to attend the meeting via Zoom due to Governor Reynold's resolution to have no more than 10 people in a gathering. All in attendance recited the Pledge of Allegiance and Maske read I-35's District Mission Statement and the District's Priorities.

Motion by Cannoy, seconded by Cassady to approve the agenda as presented; motion carried 5-0.

Education Spotlight-Interstate 35 Teachers: Mrs. Dentlinger recognized all the positive work that the teachers of the district are doing to support our students. Mr. Kaster has met with each of the high school grade levels online today. On Wednesday, a parade of teachers will drive around each of the three towns to waive at students and show their support. Maske added that his children's teachers have been reaching out to his children and he appreciates all the support that the teachers are giving to students.

Student Representative Report: None this week.

Principal Reports: None this week.

Superintendent Report: Mrs. Dentlinger gave a COVID-19 update and indicated that school districts are following the guidance provided by the Iowa Department of Education and the Iowa Department of Public Health in making decisions. Dentlinger indicated that there are a lot of questions regarding how districts move forward if the school closure is extended beyond the four weeks. The Foundation Kick-Off Celebration which had been scheduled for May 2 has been cancelled.

Maske called for discussion and approval of the following consent agenda items: minutes of the March 23, 2020 regular board meeting; resignations from Ethan Calvert (all positions), Megan Pothoven (all positions), Angela Doty (all positions); internal transfers for Jeff Douglas (to P.E.), Hayli Douglas (to 2nd grade), Jyl Scholl (to kindergarden), Tim McKinney (to reading), Alyssa Cole (to reading), Julie Krull (to 1st grade). Motion by Cassady, seconded by Vonnahme to approve the consent agenda items as presented; motion carried 5-0.

Dentlinger presented grant writing contract guidelines to the board for consideration. In an effort to get more grants and additional funding to provide instructional benefits to our students, Dentlinger recommended that the board adopt guidelines to allow payment to teachers or staff who write an approved grant that is aligned with district goals and receives grant funding. Motion by Vonnahme, seconded by Cannoy to approve the grant writing contract guidelines as presented by the Superintendent with the stipulation of an annual report by the Superintendent; motion carried 5-0.

The district will convene a continuous learning task force to develop a distance learning plan.

Special Education Update: Special Education Director Keegan Smith was present to update the board on the district's Special Education program. Mr. Smith shared that 103 students have an Individualized

Education Program (IEP). Smith praised the work that the special education teachers and associates are
doing. This is the first year of the para associate training, Train the Trainer, which teaches associates
strategies for building positive working relationships with students. Smith added that this professional
development has had a positive impact on student learning.
The board has scheduled a virtual work session via Zoom on April 6, 2020 at 5:00 p.m. to be immediately

followed by a virtual special board meeting via Zo	oom at 6:00 p.m. at the High School Media Center.
Motion by Cassady, seconded by Cannoy to adjou	urn; motion carried 5-0. Meeting adjourned at 7:18 p.m.
Jeremy Maske, Board President	Ted Bauer, Board Secretary