INTERSTATE 35 COMMUNITY SCHOOL DISTRICT REGULAR BOARD MEETING MINUTES March 25, 2024

The Interstate 35 Community School District Board of Education met in regular session, on Monday, March 25, 2024 in the High School Media Center in Truro, Iowa.

President Nathan Gibson called the meeting to order at 6:00 p.m. Vice-President Dan Hutton and Directors Jessica Bucklin, Melissa Keller, and Monica Strange were present. Also present were Superintendent Dr. Sharon Dentlinger and Board Secretary Ted Bauer. All in attendance recited the Pledge of Allegiance and Gibson read I-35's District Mission Statement and the District's Priorities.

Motion by Keller, seconded by Hutton to approve the agenda as presented; motion carried 5-0.

At 6:02 p.m., Gibson opened the public hearing on the proposed property tax levy and read the opening statement. When Gibson asked for written and oral public comment, no one from the public had signed up. Dr. Dentlinger asked if anyone present had any questions regarding the statement that they had received from their county's auditor's office. It was explained that the proposed property tax levy that was published was the maximum amount that would be levied. The Board will adopt the final tax rate after the hearing on April 22. At 6:13 p.m., Gibson closed the public hearing.

Open Forum: No one signed up to address the board during open forum.

Student representative Ross Baughman was present to give an update on recent events. The carnival for after prom support was held on March 1. Everyone enjoyed Spring break. High school band held a fundraiser for uniforms. NHS had their scrapbooking fundraiser. Drama performed Bachelor King with 32 students from grades 6-12. ISASP testing is coming up soon.

The Principals, Assistant Principal, and Activities Director/Special Education Director had submitted their written reports to the Board prior to the meeting and responded to questions from the board.

Dentlinger presented the Superintendent report.

Gibson called for discussion and approval of the following consent agenda items: minutes of the regular board meeting on February 26, 2024 and the special board meeting on March 6, 2024; monthly bills and financial statement; contracts for Carrie Thompson (hs math teacher), Madysen Rasmussen (associate), Casey Howe (assistant ms boys track coach); resignations from Ginger Harkin (associate), Ted Bauer (school business official/board secretary & treasurer), and Sharon Whitson (administrator); open enrollment; 28E Agreement for College and Career Transition Counselor with DMACC; Iowa Local Government Risk Pool Commission Natural Gas Program for FY25; SBO job description; Facilities costing and documents; E-Rate Purchase Agreement. Motion by Hutton, seconded by Bucklin to approve the consent agenda items as presented. Motion carried 5-0.

Motion by Keller, seconded by Strange to approve the tentative agreement with the Interstate 35 Educational Support Employees Association. This results in a \$.52 per hour increase or 3.067% increase. Motion carried 5-0.

Dr. Dentlinger gave an overview of school district finance and handed out the district's Seven General Fund Key Financial Indicators by IASB.

Motion by Bucklin, seconded by Strange to approve the second reading of Board Policies 500 Series and additional policies as presented. Motion carried 5-0.

Motion by Hutton, seconded by Bucklin to approve the first reading of Board Policies for federal funding including 406.2R1 Employee Conduct and Appearance—Code of Professional Conduct and Ethics Regulation, 705.04 Expenditures for a Public Purpose, 707.05 Internal Controls, and 606.03 Animals in the Classroom. Motion carried 5-0.

Motion by Bucklin, seconded by Strange to accept and approve the FY23 school audit. Motion carried 5-0.

The next regular meeting is scheduled for Monday, April 22, 2024 at 6:00 p.m. A work session was scheduled for Wednesday, April 3, 2024 at 5:00 p.m.

Motion by Hutton, seconded by Bucklin to adjourn; motion carried 5-0. Meeting adjourned at 7:33 p.m.	
Nathan Gibson, Board President	Ted Bauer, Board Secretary