## INTERSTATE 35 COMMUNITY SCHOOL DISTRICT WORK SESSION MEETING MINUTES February 25, 2021

The Interstate 35 Community School District Board of Education held a virtual work session on Thursday, February 25, 2021 at 12:00 p.m.

President Jeremy Maske called the meeting to order at 12:02 p.m. Directors Roger Cannoy, Cindi Cassady, Sara Hughes, and Eddie Vonnahme were present virtually. Superintendent Mrs. Sharon Dentlinger and Board Secretary Ted Bauer were also present at the District Office. State Representative Joel Fry was present virtually.

Motion by Cassady, seconded by Cannoy to approve the agenda; motion carried 5-0.

State Representative Joel Fry explained that the SSA (Supplemental State Aid) for FY22 had been passed and signed by Governor Reynolds. Representative Fry stated that HF294 which is the Telehealth, Mental Health Payment Parity bill is on the House floor. This should have a positive effect on students in more rural areas so they can get mental health services without traveling to get them. Fry indicated that SF159, if enacted, would create school vouchers and charters, using public money to support private education. Fry has met with other school districts who share concerns about having a reliable and consistent SSA each year and waiving the 90-day waiting period for athletic participation when open enrollment is initially used. Board members expressed concerns about taking funds from public school districts to support nonpublic schools and the dramatic effects that would potentially have on already tight school budgets. Vonnahme asked if the State would assist financially if federal mandates are issued, such as if minimum wage were raised to \$15 per hour. Dentlinger advocated to Fry that Preschool Funding should be increased from .5 FTE to 1.0 FTE. Maske thanked Representative Fry for taking the time to meet with the Board.

At 12:39 p.m., motion by Cannoy, seconded by Hughes to adjourn; motion carried 5-0.

The next regular monthly board meeting is scheduled for Monday, March 22, at 6:00 p.m. at the High School Media Center in Truro, Iowa.

Jeremy Maske, Board President

Ted Bauer, Board Secretary