INTERSTATE 35 COMMUNITY SCHOOL DISTRICT REGULAR BOARD MEETING MINUTES

January 27, 2020

The Interstate 35 Community School District Board of Education met in regular session, at 6:00 p.m. on Monday, January 27, 2020 at the High School Media Center in Truro, Iowa.

President Jeremy Maske called the meeting to order at 6:00 p.m. Directors Cindi Cassady, Roger Cannoy, and Eddie Vonnahme were present. Director District Three was unfilled due to the resignation of Director Dan Kirkpatrick on January 5, 2020. Also present were Superintendent Mrs. Sharon Dentlinger and Board Secretary Ted Bauer. All in attendance recited the Pledge of Allegiance and Maske read I-35's District Mission Statement and the District's Priorities.

Motion by Cannoy, seconded by Vonnahme to approve the agenda as presented; motion carried 4-0.

Open Forum: No one present for public comments.

Education Spotlight: Fitness Class—Physical Education Instructor, Mr. Mike Stuart, and three of his weightlifting students including Jace Bedwell, Logan Cassady, and Jack Knoll were present to explain and demonstrate how the new computer program, Teambuildr, is beneficial to the student's workouts and fitness goals since the district began using it one year ago in January, 2019.

Student Representative Report: Mrs. Dentlinger read the report submitted by Student Council Representative, Ainsley Maske, who was playing in a basketball game in Earlham while the board meeting was being held.

Elementary Principal Geoff Tessau updated the board on the Math Pilot Program. Two math series will be piloted yet; final decision will be made in April so that it can be ordered and ready to use in the next school year. Summer daycare will be available. Secondary Principal Steve Kaster presented some of the changes and modifications to course offerings at the High School for the next school year.

Dentlinger reported to the Board on the following items: The Interstate 35 Education Foundation is preparing the long form of the 501c3 application; the Foundation Board is planning to have a dinner on May 2, 2020 to share information about the foundation and why it was created; Mrs. Dentlinger encouraged Board members and district residents to contact state legislators to advocate for higher State Supplemental Assistance (SSA) for public school districts in Iowa; Mrs. Dentlinger gave an update on the building project.

Maske called for discussion and approval of the following consent agenda items: minutes of the December 16, 2019 regular meeting and minutes of the January 16, 2020 work session; monthly bills and financial statement; resignations from Nicole Vogt (varsity volleyball coach), Shane Grant (associate), Lexi Crozier (assistant hs volleyball coach); contract for Bonnie Hassemer (associate); boys swim agreement with Indianola Community School District. Motion by Cassady, seconded by Cannoy to approve the consent agenda items as presented; motion carried 4-0.

Motion by Cassady, seconded by Vonnahme to approve the open enrollment applications for 2020-2021; motion carried 4-0.

Motion by Vonnahme, seconded by Cannoy to move to closed session under Iowa Code Section 21.5(1)(a) to review or discuss records which are authorized by state or federal law to be kept confidential; roll call vote was taken; motion carried 4-0.

At 6:58 p.m., the Board moved to the classroom adjacent to the media center in closed session.

At 9:45 p.m., the Board returned to the High School Media Center and President Maske declared that the Board was again in open session.

Motion by Cannoy, seconded by Vonnahme to deny the late open enrollment application on the grounds of pervasive harassment; however to accept the late open enrollment request based on no good cause; motion carried 4-0.

As a result of Dan Kirkpatrick's resignation on January 5, 2020, from the Board of Directors, Mrs. Dentlinger explained that one person from Director District 3 submitted a letter of application; therefore, she recommended the Board appoint Sara Hughes to serve the rest of the term. Motion by Vonnahme, seconded by Cassady to appoint Sara Hughes to serve from District 3 until the election of school board members in November, 2021; motion carried 4-0.

Bauer issued the Oath of Office as a Director of the Interstate 35 Community School District Board of Education to Sara Hughes and congratulated her on her appointment. Hughes joined the other members at the table.

Dentlinger shared that two early retirement applications were received from eligible candidates including Alyson Morrison and Nona Eivins. Motion by Cannoy, seconded by Cassady to approve the early retirement applications as presented; motion carried 5-0.

Motion by Vonnahme, seconded by Cassady to adjourn; motion carried 5-0. Meeting adjourned at 9:52 p.m.	
Jeremy Maske, Board President	Ted Bauer, Board Secretary